Skip navigation

Daily Archives: November 21st, 2014

This has nothing to do with sports, or the NFL. But I just wanted to at least mention what I want to do here, and what I want to do as far as a schedule.

I would like to start making this at least a side job, or something that can help support things over time. In order for me to do this, I need to be giving everyone here something worth reading. And not just that, but something worth reading often.

So my proposed schedule, which I’ll do my damnedest to abide by, is this.

Tuesday – Is it Real? discussing fantasy sleepers, and the validity of breakout performers.
Wednesday – Betting Theories, something involving a trend, habit, or something that the degenerate gambler in all of us can use to make our picks better.
Thursday – Summing up who I’ve put bets on using sportsplays.com, and why.
Friday – Around the NFL – This is going to be about something long term going on in the NFL, such as a quarterback’s future, a team’s future, etc. Think along the lines of my articles on Ryan Tannehill and Brian Hoyer.
Saturday – The Draft Lab – Discussing what’s going on in the NFL draft, along with how teams could potentially improve their own drafting strategies.

And of course, if I get inspiration for something else, that’ll simply go on top of this schedule.

Now, that’s all well and good… but what do I need from y’all?

Simply put, I need ideas, and I need people to read this stuff. If you have a question you either don’t have time to analyze or have no idea how to, let me know! If you want to help support me, the best possible thing to do is tell friends of yours to head to footballclod.wordpress.com and check out what I’ve written. If your buddies talk about how they’re getting killed in fantasy, or want to know something about sports betting, send them here.

If you have ideas, let me know by using the contact form, or simply email footballclod@gmail.com, and I’ll see what I can do about evaluating whatever it is you’re asking. Thanks everyone!

Last Season, Brian Hoyer was easily the best out of a conga line of awful quarterbacks that the Browns trotted out, and by that, I mean he was the only one who looked like a functional quarterback at all. Then of course, the Browns drafted Johnny Manziel in the 2014 NFL draft. Brian Hoyer deservedly won the starting job in 2014 under Kyle Shanahan’s new offense, and he’s been starting every game since.

Despite a lot of injuries, the Browns have a winning record and at least seem poised to go 8-8, which is a relative rarity for Cleveland as of recent years. However, Hoyer is a free agent after this season, and is sure to be a hot commodity. Johnny Manziel undoubtedly deserves a shot somewhere in the NFL as well. So what are the Browns to do?

Question 1: How good exactly, is Brian Hoyer?
Read More »

In my Week 11 “Is it Real?” article, I mentioned that Jonas Gray could be trusted as far as you could trust anything the Patriots do with their running back corps.

Of course, they just resigned LeGarrette Blount.

LeGarrette Blount last season was their most productive runner, with 772 yards on 153 carries. He was also by far, their leading rusher during the postseason.

LeGarrette Blount is now a very interesting fantasy pickup, while the expectations for Jonas Gray need to be tempered, if not extinguished completely.

Thanks Bill Belichick.